Speeding has become the norm for many drivers. Most cruise the highways at five or ten miles per hour over the speed limit without being concerned they will receive a speeding ticket. This mentality can be troublesome and cause drivers to continue speeding up over time. In fact, one survey shows that a remarkable 80 percent of drivers thought it was okay to drive ten or more miles above the posted speed limit. What many divers forget is that exceeding the speed limit is against the law. In Illinois, speeding drivers can be at risk of a misdemeanor charge depending on how much they were speeding. This means that drivers who exceed the speed limit may actually end up spending time in jail.
Drivers are at risk of being charged with a Class B misdemeanor if they drive between 26 to 34 miles per hour over the speed limit. If found guilty, the driver faces a sentence of up to 180 days in jail and up to a $1,500 fine. Moreover, 20 points may be added to their driver’s license. Divers who drive over 35 miles per hour above the speed limit can be charged with a Class A misdemeanor. If found guilty, he or she may have to spend up to a year in jail and pay up to a $2,500 fine. A conviction such as this can result in 50 points added to a driver’s license.
Some traffic violations result in charges that can be dismissed if the person charged completes the requirements set by the court. In these cases, there is no conviction on the driver’s record and no points are applied to the person’s driver’s license. This is referred to as court supervision. Excessive speeding charges, however, do not typcially qualify for court supervision. This means that a conviction could mean added license points. After a certain amount of license points are accumulated, drivers may lose their license entirely.
The current point system for Illinois drivers provides that:
- 15- 44 points can result in a two-month suspension;
- 45 – 74 points can result in a three-month suspension;
- 75-89 points can result in a six-month suspension;
- 90-99 points can result in a nine-month suspension;
- 100-109 points can result in a year long suspension; and
- A driver’s license may be revoked after he or she has accumulated 110 points or more.
Let Us Help
If you have been arrested and charged with speeding, contact an experienced Wheaton criminal defense attorney. Call the Law Offices of Salvatore C. Miglore & Associates at 630-933-8400 today for a free consultation.