Any Illinois resident who is charged with a DUI will have their driver’s license suspended or revoked. Not only can this be an inconvenience, but it can risk your ability to earn an income in a career where driving is necessary. It is only after an administrative hearing through the Illinois Secretary of State that you can begin the process of reinstating your driver’s license.
What Is the Difference Between Suspension and Revocation?
The primary difference between suspension and revocation of a driver’s license is the amount of time a person’s driving privileges will be taken away. Revocation is an indefinite loss of driving privileges, while suspension is a loss for a specified amount of time. After the revocation or suspension period is over, then a person has to begin the process of reinstatement by having a hearing.
A person’s license may be suspended if they are charged with fleeing a police officer, leaving the scene of an accident with property damage over $1,000, having a controlled substance in the car, or possessing an identification card or driver’s license of another person. Circumstances in which a revocation may be appropriate include leaving an accident that resulted in injury or death, conviction on DUI charges, a felony that involved the use of a car, or street racing.
License Reinstatement Hearings
There are two types of hearings for license reinstatement in Illinois: formal and informal. A formal hearing is similar to a court date. A written request must be made to the Secretary of State, and within 14 days, a hearing date and time will be received. These hearing dates are typically held within six weeks of the request, but no later than 90 days. The case will be heard, and the person with a suspension or revocation will provide a testimony and evidence for their reinstatement case. Cases of a more serious nature will likely require a formal hearing. Informal hearings do not require an appointment, and they are held between the defendant and a hearing officer. In either type of hearing, a person with a suspended or revoked license has the right to be represented by a lawyer.
If the hearing results in an approval of the request for license reinstatement, the driver must pay the required fees to the state, and their license will be reinstated. Some fees can be paid online on the Secretary of State website, such as fees for Discretionary Suspension, Field Sobriety Suspension, and Zero Tolerance Suspension.
Contact a Wheaton Driver’s License Reinstatement Attorney
An experienced lawyer will know how to organize your case and argue for you to have your license reinstated in a hearing with the Secretary of State. Whether you have an informal or formal hearing, working with an experienced DuPage County driver’s license reinstatement lawyer will give you the best chance of getting your driving privileges back. Call our offices at 630-933-8400 to schedule a free consultation.